RSS Feed

Things My Kids Say

Sometimes they crack me up, sometimes they make me cry and sometimes they make me feel old.  And sometimes they even make me feel like I must be doing something right.

#1, on a hot, steamy July day in Michigan as we are preparing to leave for a dance competition in Orlando:  “It better not be like this down in Florida.”

#2, in the car, answering a query as to who was on the radio:  “It’s Nippleback.”  And a short time later, #2 again:  “He’s my breast friend.”  (uh, got something on your mind, son?)

#1, while we are having pork chops for dinner:  “Good chicken.”

#1, the day after senior prom: “That was so much fun!  I want to have prom every weekend!”

Technically not my kids, but I was the carpool mom this day:

#2’s friend, carpooling for hockey: “Hey, hey guys!  What’s the number before infinity?”  Followed immediately by, #2’s friend’s twin brother: “You idiot, it’s infinity – we don’t know!”  1st friend, “Duh, I KNOW we don’t know infinity, but what’s the number right before it?”  (Almost drove the entire carpool off the road after that.)

#3 to #1, who was having a crisis and was nearly hysterical:  “Don’t make decisions when you’re angry.  Don’t make promises when you’re happy.”

#1, to me:  “#3 is so smart.  I was really upset, and she said the best thing to me (see above).  It really helped me.”

#3, to me, after being queried about these words of wisdom:  “It’s just something I saw on Facebook!”

#1, as I groaned my way up the stairs after bashing my knee:  “Geez, Mom, how old are you, anyway?”

About whitfieldsilver

One husband, three kids, two cats, one dog. Just trying to get through the week while allowing myself one nice glass of wine per night.

Leave a Reply

