RSS Feed

In The Middle

Why “musings from the middle?”  Oh, for so many reasons:  Middle age.  Middle class.  Pretty much middle politics.  I like the show “The Middle.”  And I like the alliteration of it.

Middle age.  I’m in my early 40s, so technically I guess I’m there, or at least getting very close to it.  Had my kids on the young side (3 before 30) for this generation, so I’m quite a bit further along then many of my contemporaries.  I don’t really think of myself as middle aged, though.  More of a label that has been slapped on me without my permission.  After all, in my head I’m about 33.  Oooh, note to self – good topic for another blog entry.

Middle class.  I live in a nice home in a nice suburb.  I do not drive a nice car, but that has more to do with the fact that it still runs, is paid for and, as a minivan, infinitely useful for hauling kids and gear.  We enjoy a comfortable existence for the most part, and while there will always be additional comforts I would like to have, I have never gone to bed hungry or cold.  Well I have, but it was due to sheer laziness – not quite the same.  There is always food in the house – not filet mignon and champagne every day, but not hot dogs and mac-n-cheese either.  Can’t – or at least shouldn’t – complain.

Middle politics – Isn’t this where most of us are most of the time?  And in the immortal words of Rodney King, can’t we all just get along?  Wag more, bark less.  I would like to see a political party whose main plank is tolerance.  People are different from each other – that’s what makes things interesting.  Accept this and move on.  The main agenda of this party would be to work together with respect and dignity to solve problems and increase the quality of life for all citizens.  Note to the current political parties – yes, I mean both of you – automatically saying “no” to the other side’s ideas is NOT conducive to solving problems.  Perhaps showing a little willingness to at least listen and then having a thoughtful discussion would result in actually getting things done.  Have I preached enough?  Well it is MY blog afterall.  If you disagree feel free to start your own.  I promise to read it with an open mind.

The Middle – funny show.  If you haven’t watched it, check it out.  My third favorite sitcom right now after #1 – Modern Family and #2 – Raising Hope.

Alliteration – it’s kind of funny.  I took every advanced language course in high school, nearly minored in English literature (needed one more 400 level) in college, and I didn’t learn what the word meant until post-grad.  If you don’t know what it means, look it up.  It will be the new thing you learned today.  Use it in a sentence tomorrow.  I used to teach English, can you tell?

Finally, I like the image that “musing” evokes of having a little muse perched on my shoulder as I write.  The 20 lb. cat currently purring in my lap does not count or all this would say would be “food, food, food, food, food, food.”  However, my muse appears to have left for more coffee, so I think I’ll join her.

About whitfieldsilver

One husband, three kids, two cats, one dog. Just trying to get through the week while allowing myself one nice glass of wine per night.

Leave a Reply

