RSS Feed

And the Living is Easy…

Once upon a time I sang with a choral group and for a spring concert we learned Summertime from Porgy and Bess.  Forever after I’ve found myself singing these words when we have glorious days such as today.

Summertime,
And the livin’ is easy
Fish are jumpin’
And the cotton is high

June 1st, and it’s in the upper 70s, azure skies, not a cloud to be seen.  Could it be anymore perfect?  Well, maybe a touch less of a breeze so my hair doesn’t get so mussed – but that’s nit picking.  Took the dog for a long walk and enjoyed the scent of lilacs and iris wafting in the balmy air.  (I wrote iris, but pronounced it eye-rye, just like my dad – it’s plural, get it?).  Upon my return, opened all the windows in the house.  Goodbye rain and chill!  Welcome summer!  Time for barbecues, evening walks and glasses of wine on the deck.  Sleeping in and going to bed late.  Sparklers and fireworks.  Ahhhhh.

About whitfieldsilver

One husband, three kids, two cats, one dog. Just trying to get through the week while allowing myself one nice glass of wine per night.

Leave a Reply

